[Makeup Review] Etude House Beauty Shot Face Blur SPF 15 PA+

Helloooooo peeps!

I truly wanted to do this very often, yet writings don’t get blurted out without any mood. I promise you I’ll keep posting because since I decided to start a blog, I committed that an article should be posted once every week. And here it is, my another Makeup Review!

This review is going to be about a product that Etude House released months ago: a makeup primer, claiming that it will blur out the imperfections on your face and minimise the pores. Wait no further and take a look, shall we?

 

IMG_4421
Thrown away the box too .__. sorry

Foundations and BB cream often do not cover the pores, and they often do not last long. Thus the cosmetic companies created a way to increase their profits: makeup primer! (I’m waiting for the day concealers and primers were included inside the ingredients of foundations and BB creams .___.)

Formerly, Etude House has already produced a pore minimising product (Goodbye Pore-Ever) but I never tried those. When they released this with a fairly cheap price, I bought it online immediately since I had no primer at that time. The Porefessional by Benefit is just too devastating for my wallet, and the Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser Primer by Maybelline is nowhere to be found in my country. There are many online shops that sell Etude House products in Indonesia, primarily because the official stores ripped us off with non-sense prices (twice or thrice the real prices back in Korea). Now, let’s get down to the business!

Product description (as being quoted from the Etude House official website):

What it is: This lightweight cream provides multi-filtering effects for instantly refined and smooth skin.
The texture is smooth but it minimizes pores and brighten complexion.

What it does:

  • Covers pores and bumpy skin to make skin look flawless.
  • Softening skin layer like filtert effect to give smooth and even skin layer.
  • Natural whitening skin to make dark skin look bright and cover imperfections flawlessly while remaining invisible on-screen and in real life.
  • Baby pixcel powder and cover powder compounds give 3-in-1 multi filter effect like adjusting light on skin.

More to know:

  • Baby Pixel Powder(as called as Blur Powder): Super fine particles make skin smooth and soft while covering pores and bumps flawlessly.
  • Cover Powder: Hide skin imperfections such as blemishes via diffused reflection.
  • Unlike other primeres including silicone gel, it is made of ‘Airy Skin Powder’ to give lightweight and comfortable wear for long time.

Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Butylene Glycol, Butylene Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Peg-10 Dimethicone, Zinc Oxide (Ci 77947), Phenyl Trimethicone, Dimethicone, Pentylene Glycol, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Glycerin, Sorbitan Isostearate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Magnesium Sulfate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Tribehenin, Glyceryl Behenate/Eicosadioate, Hydrogenated Castor Oil Isostearate, Aluminum Hydroxide, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hdi/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Silica, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Disodium Edta, Fragrance(Parfum), Phenoxyethanol, Mica (Ci 77019), Iron Oxides (Ci 77492), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491)

How to apply:

  1. This product is to be used before you put any makeups on your face. Dispense the product by pressing the pump gently to the desired amount. Put the liquid on the back of your hand.
  2. Take the product using your fingers and apply it on your face evenly.
The pump
The pump
Put it on the back of my hand..
Put it on the back of my hand..
Swatches on my hand
Swatches on my hand
Before
Before
IMG_4432
After

35g is a lot for the price, so I am quite happy for how little I should use the product every time I want to put makeup. The product texture’s itself very light and not quite runny. You can apply this easily on your face because a small amount will spread widely and evenly. Quite frankly, the product does like 70% of what it claimed. It does minimise the appearance of my pores, but the results are not very different from the prior (I don’t know about The Porefessional and the Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser ones, are the pore minimising primers supposed to be like this?).  The redness on my face were covered subtly, but I think it is what it was supposed to be. After all, it’s a makeup primer. My face felt a little bit oilier than before. And yes, my face looked smoother and a little bit “blurred“, but not as blur as I wanted it to be. Then again, I don’t know how those things works.

On the other hand, it doesn’t whiten my skin and I don’t think the light adjustment works.. I don’t know, though; if it does, then it would’ve been very subtle. But companies often put too much credits on their products, so there’s just that.

To sum up:

Score: 3.75/5

Counter price: I don’t know if this product has reached the Indonesia’s official outlets or not, but I’m guessing the price would be around IDR 350,000 or US$26-$27

Online shop price: IDR 159,000 or US$12

Pros:

  • Blur out your face’s imperfections
  • Minimise pore (although not as minimum as I wish it would be)
  • Reduce face’s redness

Cons:

  • Make my face a little bit oilier
  • Not acting as a real makeup primer: to make the makeup last longer
  • No whitening effect

Thank you for reading my another makeup review! I’d like to review about a some lipsticks but I have a very bad chapped lips. If you guys have any recommended lip products, I’ll be glad to review it and use it for life! I used Burt’s Bees Lip Balm with Mango Butter, Sebamed Lip Balm, The Body Shop Cocoa Butter Lip Balm, L’Occitane Shea Butter Lip Balm; basically all the best lip balms everyone claimed yet my lips are still chapped till this day 😦  I tried some lip treatments too: Clinique Superbalm Lip Treatment, Vaseline Petroleum Jelly, applying honey to my lips every night and even applying products from the doctor’s recipe. Still, my lips are not getting better. Most of them would only work for a week or so, and then my lips will go back to its creepy natural state. If you have any recommendations, I’ll be glad to try them! 😦

OR, Hopefully I can start about my travel reviews anytime soon. Have a nice day, peeps! 🙂

Disclaimer: This article is not sponsored by the product’s company. Any writings are solely based on my honest opinion. I do not hold responsibility for those who have different opinions about this product. All of the photos were taken by me using iPhone 5s.

7 thoughts on “[Makeup Review] Etude House Beauty Shot Face Blur SPF 15 PA+

  1. Hey nice blog too dear Grace 😊
    I’m concerned with dry and super chapped lips too 😯 Have you tried Jack Black’s lipbalm? It’s the only lipbalm that works beside fresh sugar lipbalm. And it’s not expensive too (about $9).

    Like

      1. price differencesnya gimana? aku anak kuliah tipikal: bokek hahahaha. waah di FD kerjaanku cuma cari review sama ngepost, gimana cara cari tokonya yaa?

        Like

Leave a Reply

