[Makeup Review + a lil rant] Yves Saint Laurent Rouge Volupté Shine #33

Hello everybody!

I know that this incredible lippie’s reviews are everywhere. But I can’t get myself to not write about this!

To be frank, I always felt that I can never afford high-end brand makeups. Passing by the Bobbi Brown, YSL, Benefit, or any of those has been a sad routine of mine for a long time. For all over 2 years I always bought Korean makeups because they’re not that expensive for my college student’s wallet. They’re actually good for starters, and even some products have taken my heart that I have to purchase them again and again because they’re totally great.

As of this year, I started to attend some makeup classes; one of them is by YSL. I kinda regret about where my money went (IDR 450000 or US$34) because it was not actually a makeup class. Much to my disappointment, it was just the YSL’s Sales Promotion Girl, doing her hideous style of makeup to one of the lucky attendees that got a lot of prizes because she was there, and deciding the closest girl from her to be the “best makeup” winner that got a lot of prizes too. I was quite pissed because I didn’t learn anything and didn’t have the chance to win anything.

On the other hand, they gave me a 2 complementary gifts: Rouge Pur Couture Vernis À Lèvres Glossy Stain #104 Fuchsia Tomboy and a gift of my choice that can be valued for IDR 450,000 (US$34). I don’t really like the glossy stain’s shade, they happen to be purplish. At first I really wanted its Touche Eclát, but I had to add another IDR 125,000 (US$9.4) which is too expensive for me. After an hour of searching the best lipstick colour, I finally chose Rouge Volupté Shine shade 33.

So here it is (and this time I still have the box!):

YSL image2

Description as being quoted from the YSL official website:

 Give in to the temptation of dazzling color. Succumb to a unique sensorial experience with extreme comfort and luminous shine.  Hyaluronic acid microspheres help seal in moisture for 8 hours of hydration. Anti-oxidants and emollients help condition and soften lips.

Ingredients:

  • Hyaluronic Acid Spheres
  • Moisturizing action emollients
  • Softening action
  • Softening action
  • Pomegranate extract
  • Antioxidant action
  • Candellila Resin
  • Protection
  • Mineral Pigments
  • Bright sheer color
on the hand swatch
on the hand swatch
Lip application
Lip application

The first thing that amazed me was the colour. It is SUPER pigmented and bold. As I swiped the lipstick through my lips, the smoothness can be felt. There are some shiny substances all over the lipstick that made it look glossy when applied. Furthermore, the container’s heavy weight and gold colour gave a sophisticated impression and I liked that very much. The only thing that doesn’t fit me is the hydration; it’s not as hydrating as I wanted it to be. Then again, I think there’s something wrong with my lips as being told in the previous article :/

Final verdict:

Score: 4.5/5

Pros:

  • Pigmented colour
  • Very smooth
  • Nice packaging
  • Long-lasting

Cons:

  • Not that hydrating

Disclaimer: This article is not sponsored by the product’s company. Any writings are solely based on my honest opinion. I do not hold responsibility for those who have different opinions about this product. All of the photos were taken by me using iPhone 5s.

3 thoughts on “[Makeup Review + a lil rant] Yves Saint Laurent Rouge Volupté Shine #33

Leave a Reply

