[Makeup Review] Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Gel Liner #Black_Ink


Hello peeps! Another high-end makeup review is coming! I’m soooooooo excited! Who doesn’t love gel liners?!

Being an impulsive girl as I am, the purchase of this product was unavoidable. Formerly, the liquid liner was the one that caught my attention. Perfectly swapped onto my hands as I asked for the price. €27.5. For that small of pen-like eyeliner. I carefully put that thing down and took a glance at the gel liner. €25. Well.. that’s a very good deal, I thought. The deep and broad jar indicates that it will last a life. Didn’t even take me 2 minutes to pay for that holy grail product.

I already had the so praised Tony Moly Backstage Gel Liner for only for $7. I hate to say it, but the price reflects the quality. Two hours of usage and it already smeared onto my lower eyelids. The cleansing process was a satanic pain as I had to rub that thing really, really, really hard to get it out of my eyelids and some of the products would ALWAYS still be there. YUCK! I thought all gel liners were the same hence didn’t like to use them very much.

But this…thing, I can say with 100% certainty that the gel liner does worth every penny.

aplod

Product description (as quoted from the website):

A true original. This award-winning long-wearing eyeliner offers the precision of liquid liner with the ease of a gel-based formula—all with 12 hours of waterproof and sweat- and humidity-resistant wear.

 

Now, the basic of winged (well, what else do you use gel liner for?) liner, is to make the wing aligned with your lower lid line. Since I have hooded eyes, I shouldn’t lift my brows upwards when I was about to draw the line, or else the wing falls down.

FullSizeRender-3

FullSizeRender-4

FullSizeRender-5

FullSizeRender-6

The first time I opened the bottle and swiped my brush unto the gel, it was a little more solid than I thought; it was quite difficult to get the product onto my brush. After a few sweeps, the gel had finally managed to stick on my brush. Applying it is not an easy process as it was not that pigmented. But once you master the sweep, the look is fascinating. It glides smoothly on my eyelids and it didn’t take that much of an effort to wipe off your frequent wing mistakes. And the best part is: it lasts ALL FREAKING DAY and can be CLEANED easily at the end of the day! Minor smears is one of the downsides; at least for now. I read some reviews that stated the gel dries quickly inside the jar :/ The poor pigmentation is another factor to consider. You’ll need to apply a very thick layer in order to achieve that blackest black eyeliner look.

Note: I’m using the Zoeva 317 Wing Liner to apply this product.

Final verdict:

Score: 4/5

Pros:

  • True gel-like eyeliner
  • Elegant packaging
  • Lasts all day
  • Easily cleaned
  • Very minor smears

Cons:

 

Disclaimer: This article is not sponsored by the product’s company. Any writings are solely based on my honest opinion. I do not hold responsibility for those who have different opinions about this product. All of the photos were taken by me using iPhone 5s.

11 thoughts on “[Makeup Review] Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Gel Liner #Black_Ink

  1. Thanks for the amazing review! I really want to find a pigmented gel eyeliner!!!

    Also, if you get a chance please check out my blog, I’m hosting an International IG Giveaway! 🙂

    Krys xo

    Elysianlight.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. Well actually I needed 3 strokes, but that doesn’t bother me though. The advantage is that if I got my wings wrong I can clean that up without as much as residues that a gel liner would give me :p what are you using then?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

