[Makeup Review] e.l.f Instant Lift Brow Pencil

Did I just found a holy grail of drugstore eyebrow pencil?! Read more to find out!

I LOVE to do my brows even though they’re already nicely shaped. Tweezing them every week has been an obsession of mine that I’m not willing to release at any given time. I previously have reviewed the Anastasia Beverly Hills’ hyped Dipbrow Pomade in ash brown and I’ve only fill in my brows with that since then. Over the time I found it quite difficult to define the shape of my brows using my wide Zoeva 322 Brow Line. Instead of buying a cheaper common brow brush, I was again tempted to try another product instead. I know, I know, it’s not healthy at all. That’s why I (again) justified my action by looking for a cheap dupe for Anastasia Brow Wiz. And guess what? I found it (sorta)!

IMG_1320

A bit of description from e.l.f’s official website:

This slim mechanical pencil shapes, defines, and fills in brows for a natural, polished look. The dual-sided design applies color with the fine tip liner on one side and tames and combs brows with the other to create natural and defined-looking eyebrows.

Ingredients listed on e.l.f’s official website:

Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Polyethylene, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Microcrystalline Wax (Cera Microcristallina), Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Ozokerite, Mica, Silica, Tocopheryl Acetate (Ve), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol. MAY CONTAIN: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499). – See more at: http://www.elfcosmetics.com/p/instant-lift-brow-pencil?dept=eye-eyebrows#sthash.U4lfC1cx.dpuf

Well.. They may not have the best ingredients in the world, but for that price, I wouldn’t mind. It is meant to be cheap anyway.

IMG_1318

A bit of disappointment was crawling up to my hands when I first opened the product. The packed pencil was pretty wide, and it has no simple sharpener. Totally not the dupe for Brow Wiz. But then again, I can just use my other product’s sharpener. Also, who doesn’t like a brow product that comes with a spooley?

IMG_1319

The reason that I searched for this kind of brow pencil is because I hate the regular brow pencil so much. I hate to sharpen them over and over again and I don’t know why companies still make that kind of brow pencil, because it’s not practical at all and it wastes too much of the product. The first time I indulged in the makeup world, I told myself to buy the retractable one!

FullSizeRender (2) copy

When I first swatched it on my hands, I realised that the product was not too creamy. This could be an advantage, though. Creamy brow pencils often break and I couldn’t be more annoyed with the fact that I waste a good amount of product. The colour itself is quite dark and therefore it fits my hair colour; it lives up to its name!! It is nicely pigmented and easily blended, although not as much as the ABH dipbrow pomade. But again, overly defined brows irritates me. This just makes the natural style application so much easier! The spooley itself is not bad either. The longevity is amazing, I wore this for 8 hours straight and it only budged a little. Mind you, I live in a tropical country; I sweat a lot. Overall, I have very few negative things to say about this product. Whether to frame my brow or to fill in my brow, this product perfectly does it all!

before
before
after framing and filling with the e.l.f Instant Lift Brow Pencil
after framing and filling with the e.l.f Instant Lift Brow Pencil

after framing with e.l.f Instant Lift Brow Pencil and filling with ABH Dipbrow Pomade in Ash Brown
after framing with e.l.f Instant Lift Brow Pencil and filling with ABH Dipbrow Pomade in Ash Brown
It has almost no difference with ABH Dipbrow Pomade within the application (besides its colour). I’d totally recommend this for everybody!!

Price: IDR 60,000 or US$4.61

Final verdict:

Score: 4.5/5

Pros:

  • Absolute deep cool-toned brown.
  • Good pigmentation.
  • Nice spooley.
  • Longlasting; only budge within 5 hours of application!
  • Easily blended while not being too creamy.
  • Retractable.
  • Waterproof.

Cons:

  • Might be too thick for some people including me.

Thank you for reading my post! Have a nice day people!

Disclaimer: This article is not sponsored by the product’s company nor by the shop that I bought it from. Any writings are solely based on my honest opinion. I do not hold responsibility for those who have different opinions about this product. All of the photos were taken by me using Nikon D5500 and iPhone 5S. Please credit me (harevaden.wordpress.com) and inform me through grace.then@hotmail.com if you want to use my photos. Colour results might differ from the real shade due to photography lighting and editing process.

6 thoughts on “[Makeup Review] e.l.f Instant Lift Brow Pencil

Leave a Reply

