16 Things I Learned in 2016

We might not agree on some views of life. There might be some controversies, debates, and contrasting point of views still ongoing for the moment. But there’s this one thing that the whole world population agrees upon: 2016 has been a hell of a year.

Hello, everyone. I haven’t been active since.. idk when? Many apologies, tho. I used to read and like almost everything in my reader section and for the past months..I lacked of motivation. And now my writing skills has deteriorated even further.

Anyway, what the fucking fuck is wrong with 2016? Prior to the year, a friend of mine said, “this is NOT a good year according to our fengshui,” and I was like, “meh.”

And now here we are. Not even remotely ‘meh’.

Here’s the thing. I broke up. I destroyed people’s trusts. I turned 21. I got on a series of emotional rollercoaster I’m not sure that I’m still on the goddamn track. I’m on my last year of university, so there’s this sadness because my friends and I have to separate at some point, and there’s this thesis shit. Another form of responsibility is dumped right on my face. Oh, and I turned atheist for reasons. And there are other shits — which I cannot describe here — going on. Adulthood is fucking intense.

Luckily I have friends that pretty much balanced out the shits in my life. I learned a lot from them. And this whole new situation pretty much cleared my mind about things that were messy during my teenage years. So here are the things I realised and learned in 2016:

  1. Nothing lasts forever. Nothing. Your happiness, your sadness, your success, your failure. Life is an endless fluctuating line with ‘time’ on the x-axis and ‘yay-ness’ on the y-axis; and sometimes you can do nothing about it. Get along with it and you’ll be fine.
  2. Entrepreneurship has never been easy, and it will never be.
  3. Stop caring about what others (people other than the closest ones) think. You don’t worth that much, seriously. There are better things for them to worry about instead of you,
  4. and vice versa. Stop thinking about others’ shits. You have other things to worry about. Learned this the hard way.
  5. To be a master at any kind of shit, first you have to master consistency. This is real deal. I’m 21 and I excel at practically nothing because I never had that consistency thing going on. Have to be a better person, I have to be a better person (mutter).
  6. The world is unfair.
  7. Stop labelling people. It affects your attitude towards them in bad ways. Learned this the hard way too. Still far from perfect on this.
  8. Most people in your life are temporary. One of my saddest realisation for the moment.. Please cherish your high school and college friends. Many people said that after you graduate, you’re completely alone because there’s just no one you can trust..
  9. YOU are the one who have the authority to choose to be happy. Not other people, not your president, and certainly not everything in between. I read a few of backpackers’ blog posts and they said that the kids in the third world countries are the happiest. So, no, your government has nothing to do with your own happiness. Well, except if you’re from North Korea. I feel sorry for you, deeply. Not that any of you would read this anyway. Ha.
  10. Moving on is incredibly hard, but not really. The hardest part of moving on is the first step: accepting. And there are still parts of me that cannot accept things the way it is. But once you get passed that, the rest will follow and suddenly you’re like America free.
  11. Never regret. It is actually something I learned last year, but I think people need to be reminded over and over again on this. I spent my lifetime regretting the stupid shits I’ve done. I regretted being bullied and not being able to avenge them. I regretted falling in love with people and things that were not even..worth it. I regretted not doing this and not doing that. I regretted my life. But the moment I stopped regretting, the world felt like a whole lot better place. Things that happened in the past and the mistakes that you’ve done, they defined you. You are who you are at the moment because of them.
  12. Do one thing at a time. As you get older, responsibilities overwhelm you a lot. But you don’t have to do them at the same time.
  13. Unconditional love isn’t a thing.
  14. Not entirely related to self-development, but I’m so glad my friend introduced me to this blog. I learned a lot of things that were not that interesting for me before. I sheepishly declare that WBW is now one of my (new) bibles. (In my case I often became fixated in one thing for a while so this might be over at anytime soon)
  15. You are free to feel what you want to feel. There’s no “should be” and “should’ve been” for your feelings. Be true to yourself and you’ll eventually find some kind of relieve.
  16. Following the #1, enjoy life while you can. I used to believe that happiness often comes with some tragic events afterwards, hence nothing can be 100% enjoyed for me. That might still be true, but remember #1, and remember that you’re allowed to be as happy as you can. Cherish that blissfulness, because you might not get it again some time in the future.

Yeap, they’re cringey. But these are the things I’ve never given thoughts to before, and now they seemed make a lot of sense. Hopefully you learned a lot too in this year!

 

Disclaimer: I (not sincerely) apologise for the swear words. I do swear a lot.

2 thoughts on “16 Things I Learned in 2016

  1. Helloo Grace..udah lama ga mampir blogmu..daku pun sibuk ngurusin blog yg domain baru :'(..same with me grace,,2016 jadi tahun yang gersang, that’s a lot of bad things going on..cheer up for 2017..semoga tahun ini lebih baikk dari tahun sebelumnya..semangat Graceee 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. HALOOO ya ampun aku jg blm cek blog kamu udah lamaaaa banget.. udah berbulan2 ga ngecek gr2 sibuk kuliah dst :'(( loh pindah dr wordpress kak mona? :O amin yaaa smoga lbh baik jg buat kamu haha semangat jg yaa

      Like

Leave a Reply

